Life Style

Hostless Oscars following Kevin Hart Controversy

In an unexpected turn of events, the 91st Academy Awards will be hostless this year; it’s the first time in 30 years that the Oscars will not have an official host for the ceremony. Instead, they will rely on several presenters for each award category.

The list of presenters includes Oscar’s winners Brie Larson and Charlize Theron, as well as Tina Fey, Amy Poehler, Jennifer Lopez, Whoopi Goldberg, Tessa Thompson, Maya Rudolph, Amandla Stenberg, and Daniel Craig.

As Oscar tradition, winners from last year also will be presenting some of the awards that mean Allison Janney, Gary Oldman, Sam Rockwell, and Frances McDormand.

This comes after Kevin Hart stepped down from hosting following the backlash of his homophobic tweets resurfacing; he announced his emotional decision via a thread of tweets.

The producers inevitably made a rational decision not to have a host and settled on several presenters instead. There will be plenty of musical performances as well like Lady Gaga and Bradley Cooper performing their nominated song Shallow from the movie A Star Is Born.

Though the Oscars will not be the same without a host yet we’re extremely excited to witness how the producers will manage to pull that off.

Share your thoughts with us in the comments section and don’t forget to share this with your friends.

Show More

Related Articles